Ironman Lanzarote 2010

Thanks Bob Foy for the photo.

Thanks Bob Foy for the photo.


The race is now done. What a day!
Coming into the race, I was a bit nervous. My coach will be angry with me for saying this, but I kind of felt the “pressure” of being defending champion and knowing my preparation was not where I would have prefered it to be. The training I have in my legs is a bit behind schedule and for the past few weeks I have been dealing with very tight hamstring muscles.

Anyway, like I said in my last blog, I would be “gone like a whippet racing dog” when the gun went off at 7am! …and I was! I had a really strong swim to start my day off (52.37), just 2 minutes behind Hillary!

On the bike I controlled my pace on the bike, so to make sure I would be starting the run with some energy in my body rather than being “done” too early.
There was very little wind on the ride, which is unusual here in Lanzarote! Its been so windy the last few days but yesterday it decided to stop blowing! That meant no nice tail winds, but it also meant no huge head winds too!
For about an hour around the 50km mark I felt like my legs went throo a tough patch, but I seemed to recover from that and felt ok for the rest of the ride.
Catriona Morrison who had been powering on and had a good lead had mechanical problems at the 70km . I dont wish that on anyone, but suddenly I felt back in the race!! However, it was’t the last I would see of her!!

On the run I felt good for 21km. I even took the lead! It felt great and the possibility of wining of a 3rd time made me very happy. But at 21km it is still a long way to go. Unfortunatley I began to feel my legs tighten up (the same tightness I have been dealing with prior to the race)
From 25km I really slowed and had problems, I would see 3 people pass me so I finished in 4th place 😦
However, wth my current fitness my realistic aim coming into the race was to finish top 5, so I did that and I will recieve 3rd place prize money and a great training session to help kick me into form for the upcoming races.

Well done to everyone who finished out there yesterday. I hope the 2 people I saw who had crashed badly at Haria and near the 170km mark are ok.

ThankYou so much everybody who cheerd me on and supported me. I have never experienced such amazing support before.

See you out there racing again soon.
Bella

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.