I Love Lanzarote

bellabikelanzasatnding-450x3001Yesterday Stephen and I arrived to Lanzarote. It was a great feeling to land onto the island again. We were greeted by the gorgeous views of the volcanic moutains and a warm “northerly breeze” as our pilot called it! ..it was more of a “wind” I thought! hi hi hii!! but still it was a great feeling being back.
Back to were being a triathlete is easy. We love the roads here. They are fun to ride on with the views, mostly smooth roads and few crazy car drivers. I wish we could spend even more time than we do here on Lanzarote.

It is great to be here now, but it was another long journey to get here. It would be brilliant if there was a direct flight from Port Elizabeth to Lanzarote! It would be a long flight, close to 11 hours, but so easy! I dont think I have found the best way to get here yet, however we do always try to find the best route we can with the amount of money we are prepared to spent.
Last year we flew PE to Johannesburg, then Jo-burg to Lisbon with TAPair. We were not all that impressed with TAP as they charged us for bikes, had no inflight entertainment, did’nt serve hardly any food and had grumpy air hostesses!
We then flew TAPair, Lisbon Madrid, Madrid Lanzarote. ..those of you that know your geography know that route is a bit wierd.
So this year we went, PE to Jo-burg, Jo-burg to London (yes too far up, I know, but it was cheaper to do it that way!?), then London Madrid, night in Madrid, then Madrid to Lanzarote with EasyJet. Even though going up to London and then coming back down again to Madrid is a bit of a weird route, flying with South African Air and BA meant no baggage fees and inflight entertainment (keeps Stephen happy!! )
Madrid to LAnzarote was fine with EasyJet. We like EasyJet because we always know what to expect with them, ..we pay for our bike, and its not too expensive and off we go! They never surprise us with any other scary excess fees.

Really our travel went well, I suppose the only thing we could moan about was going throo London Heathrow because it is such a stupid airport. Always huge ques and complicated ways to get from one terminal to another. I suppose the other annoying thing was I got food poisened by someone that served me a poisenious chicken salad. How dare they! It meant a really uncomfortable night in Madrid and a day feeling weak when we traveled here to LAnzarote. But I am fine now. ThankGoodness.
Anyway, back to Lanzarote. We are here till just after the Ironman. I am looking forward to a great couple of weeks of training on my favorite island. I’ll be using the strength I got from my efforts at Ironman South Africa to get even stronger for Ironman Lanzarote which is on the 22nd of May.

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.