my IM South Africa race report

Yesterday was Ironman South Africa but like last year, I did’nt have the race that I had in 2008!
The day started cool with a light breeze and choppy waters. It made for a challenging swim but I swam well coming out on Jason Shortis’s feet at 55 minutes!
I went conservative on the bike as I am not at my fittest right now. However, even riding conservative took a lot out of me. Its not an easy bike course, you have to pedal every stroke otherwise you come to a standstill!
I came off the bike in 8th position about 9 minutes back from Caroline who was in first place at the time.
I could tell from the start of the run that my “fuel tank” did’nt feel on “full”. I tried to refuel but it made my stomach turn bad. I ran a fine 10km and got myself to 5th position, but the race is 42km, so that was a problem! I ran to 21km but then ground to a halt. I walked to 28km where the finish line is. It is not a good feeling to DNF, but I am trying not to beat myself up too bad over it. I was not complety ready to race an Ironman yesterday. I need a bit more time but I know my efforts yesterday will have helped my fitness for the next races. I will look forward to Ironman Lanzarote in 4 weeks time.

ThankYou to everyone who was cheering me on yesterday. I had so much support and encouragment.

It was good to see Stephen finishing his job off and coming 5th. Some money in the bank after our trip here! It was’nt really the result Stephen dreampt about either but it is ok and he will also benifit from his efforts.

My friend Emma English did the most inspiring effort! Ironman South Africa was her first Ironman, ..her second triathlon! She watched Ironman South Africa last year, and in 1 year she has taught herself to swim bike run and she not only finished yesterday, she went 12 hours 52 minutes! I was so happy to see her do that. I did’nt see her during the race so I was worried she had’nt made it out of the rough water with in the time. …she made it out the water with plenty of time! She swam 1 hour 20. Great job Emma, ..lots more exciting races ahead for you!

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.