Ironman South Africa 2010

Today is 3 weeks until Ironman South Africa. It will be the 4th year in a row I have raced this! The first year I raced I went on my own, the organisers would’nt give Stephen a free entry so considering it was so expensive to get there, ..I went alone. I came 3rd. Natasha Badmann won and Edith Neidenfriniger came 2nd. I remember Teresa being there and hammering the swim and bike!
The following year we managed to persuade the organisers to give Stephen a free entry! So we both went. And it worked out magical as we BOTH won it! We will remember that day forever!
During the run I remember hearing on the loudspeaker that Stephen had just WON! WOW!!!! It made me feel weak at the knees for a moment, but then I had to keep concentrating as I was running side by side with Edith Niedenfriniger at the time. The only thing that was said during the 25km we ran side by side, was, she said “Congratulations for you, for Stephen” ! 🙂

Edith and my race went on till the finish line when I outsprinted her with 200 metres to go! That sprint was a real gut wrenching experience but definitely worth it! 🙂

I also remember James (who worked for the organisers then) being our airport transfer man! He took us back to the Airport! I remember him being very interested in how we were both so fit to win his home town Ironman! Times have changed and he is now one of the big contenders!!

Last year Stephen and I did’nt have a good day. We went out strong which was a bit enthusiastic! We learned from our mistakes and moved on.

This year we are both looking forward to a great race. It will be my first race of 2010, I am excited to get racing again but I wont race it like I did last year. I plan to start smart and finish strong.

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.