my win at ironman Lanzarote!

Yesterday was Ironman Lanzarote.
It was my 3rd time racing this Ironman. In 2003 I came 3rd, last year I won, and yesterday I won it again!
Ironman Lanzarote is known as the “World’s toughest Ironman”
It is a huge achievement to have won this race again.

I went into the race having had 6 good weeks training here on the island. I definatly felt stronger, but at the same time a little nervous because it is scary going to war.
I planned to attack the swim as best I could. I tried not to loose too much time. I thought I had swum slow, but looking at the results now, it was’nt so bad! I was 3rd out the water just 3 minutes 30 from Hillary Biscay and Rachel Joyce.
I tried to ride my bike at my own effort rather than getting caught up with trying to “race” the other girls. I went my own speed and did’nt panick when I was caught by a few girls. At times it felt hard when the wind was blowing from the side or in the face, but I just worked away with it.
I came off the bike in 5th place but with my running legs!
I set to work and into the lead within 10km, all I had to do was control it to the finish line. The last 10km was a hard effort but really really worth it in the end!
I ran 3.04, the same time as my best run which was at Ironman Austria last year.
That time broke the run course record that Paula Newby Fraser had here, ..3.09.12 in 2005. So that was an achievement too!
I did’nt realise how much effort that took, I was exhausted last night! I am coming around now and enjoying a relaxing day today!

Stephen and my 7 weeks here in Lanzarote is almost over. It is a special place to me! Of course I am a bit biased having won 2 Ironmans here, but it is a beautiful place to have been for this time. I will be sad to leave on Tuesday, but at the same time excited to be going back to Leysin as we have not been at our home for 5 months now!

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.