Pre Ironman Lanzarote week

On Saturday I will race Ironman Lanzarote for the 3rd time.

In 2002 I raced Ironman Lanzarote and I was trying to think of the things that I could remember from that race! One thing that I remember is that I raced 6 days before in Ibiza for the World long distance Championships (where I had a good race being pipped at the finish line in a sprint for 3rd place, I finished 4th) For the Ibiza race I remember thinking that if I dont wear socks for the run I will have a fast transition!! Well, I had a fast transition but my shoes had to be cut off at the end as my feet were so bloody and blistered. Anyway, off I went to Lanzarote and the organisers were unsure I should race with the state of my feet! I told them “I would be fine!”

During the ride I had no idea where the course would take me, I remember asking guys who were riding close to me “how much further do you think the finish is?” I remember them saying, “oh, a long way yet, your not even at the Miridor yet” I thought “Eeeeek this is a hard ride!!!!”
I finished 3rd that year.

Last year I raced Ironman Lanzarote again. Stephen was not racing but there to support me instead. I enjoyed having him there to support me.
I could not really remember the ride from 2002, so again I could’nt really remember what would be around the next corner.
I ended up having a great race and winning last years Ironman, that was a very special win.
This year I wont have the same “not knowing where I am” on the bike as Stephen and I have been riding on the course for 6 weeks now! I know every corner, every pot hole and how the wind can blow and where it is best to hold onto the handlebars real tight in case the wind blows them from you!

I have been really impressed with the Ironman organisation and the race registration, expo, etc has not even started yet!! 10 days before the race the bike course was sign posted up. Not just 1 sign at every junction, but at least 3 to guide people around the course!
What other race does that? I have raced a lot of races now and I can not name one other race that does this! Sometimes a race will start out with good intensions and start to sign post the course, only to get bored half way throo signposting and give up! So when we are out there trying to ride some of the course, we are merrily taken into the middle of no-where and left to find your own way! I can think of more than 1 occasion where I have got lost on the bike the day before the race!
Anyway, time to go, Lots to do…
oh and I have to go and see my new friend, the kitten. I could have made many friends with people while staying here at Club La Santa, but I have chosen to make friends with a tiny kitten that has no mum! 😦
I am his new Mum, I am not sure what will happen next week when we leave the island.

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.