Clearwater

For 1 week now, I have been hanging out in Clearwater, Florida!
Stephen and I drove down here after Ironman Florida. It had been the plan since the beginning of 2008 that I would race Ironman Florida and Stephen would race 70.3 World Champs. It worked well as we could both be a support to each other in our final races of the year.
We booked a hotel from the recomeded list off the 70.3 website. When we arrived it was dark and we were just happy to arrive. Next day when we drove to the race site, it was another 10 miles away! Great recommendation 70.3!!!! Thanks!!! Its not like there is not enough hotels on the beach, it is jam packed with hotels down there!
Maybe 70.3 thought we might like to live amoungst the industrial sized shops for a while, we have on our doorstep, Super sized Target, Super sized Best Buy, Super sized Mattress shops, McDonalds, Burger King, Starbucks, Fatburgers and much more!
We would have made more use of the beach, but we have giving some of these shops some good custom to help the poor American economy!

It was a new experience for me to be watching a race but I really enjoyed it, although I would have enjoyed it more if Stephen had had a great day. It was great to see Reinaldo and Erika out there and hanging tough.

Now we are on “holiday”. Our season is done! We dont “have” to train every minute of the day. But, …we dont know what to do with our selves! And I’m not happy unless I have swum, biked and run! So, we are swimming, biking and running!!
We found a great swimming pool, although yesterday they surprised us by closing for the day 😦
I had to swim in the hotels paddling pool instead 😦
Its not a great place to ride your bike here on Super sized shopping Highway. But we have found a frontage road on the side of a highway which has no cars. Its about 5km long each side so we ride up and down that! It is safe, but actually its good as it is right beside the water and we have seen dolphins 2 times now!
For running we have found a nice park now, but before we knew about the park I was running beside Super sized shopping Highway and the people here have never seen a girl run, especially one with long socks and a pink top on! Oh dear!!!?!

Today we drive back to Panama City Beach to drop our rental car off and get our flight back to Scotland! It is just over 2 weeks till we get married now! Its exciting! I think everything is ready but I am sure there is going to be some final things to do!
It is Stephen’s stag “do” this weekend. I am disapearing to Scotland to keep out the way! I hope his brother does’nt go too crazy on him.

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.