Ironman Florida 2007

It is the morning after the race. My 6th Ironman Florida in a row! And my 6th birthday here in Panama City Beach! I enjoy being here, I always have a good time.

So, the race, I had a good swim, I noticed while running round the sand loop I was at 26 minutes, then I exited the complete swim in 55.30, I think the results said.

I felt ok on the bike, but seemed to feel more at ease and comfortable for the final 2 hours.
Getting off the bike in a fine time of 5 hours!

My running run legs were not really there to begin with, but I am used to just getting on with the job anyway! I ran the first 13 miles in a fine time of 1 hour 29. Perfect. But suddenly I really started to struggle. The last 13 miles were really hard work. I was not sure I would be able to finish. My position changed from 3rd place to 5th place and back to 4th place. It was a really tight race, so many girls all together.
I concentrated hard to keep running as fast as I could and get some calories in to get me to the finish line.
I got there! In 4th place! I am happy, and my fastest ever Ironman time,
9 hours 13 minutes.
Of course I would have liked to keep my winning history going here in Florida, but I did my best.

I few easy days before we travel back to Thailand for the final preparations for Ironman Western Australia on December 2nd.

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.