European Champs

This week Stephen and I have been in Belgium for the European long distance Champs. Well, not so “long” ! The official people of the ITU changed the distance at the end of 2006 to a shorter “long” distance event!?
From a 4km swim, 120km bike, 30km run, to a 3km swim, 80km bike, 20km run. So basically a double olympic distance race.

Quite an intence race!
I came 4th.

I dont seem to be swimming all that strongly right now, once again I gave the girls a nice head start. ..just to make my day a bit more difficult!
I caught a few girls on the bike, then a few more on the run while I had the fastest run split of the girls race.
But I gave too much away in the swim and could not get to the top 3.

Stephen however did a great job, I think his best performance to date with a 3rd place in a stacked mens field. I am looking forward to the World long distance Champs in 3 weeks, ..for him 🙂 …

I am looking forward to 3 weeks of no racing now, and some good consistant training.

Bella

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.