Half Ironman UK

Yesterday I raced Half Ironman UK.
It was great to race in my home country! I had so much support from the crowds, so it was very motivating and fun to race.

It was a 6am start at the lake of WimbleBall in Devonshire.
I swam not too bad yesterday, 5 minutes behind the best swimmers, ..Stephen and including Julie Dibens.

The bike course was 2 laps which were very very hilly. On each lap there were 3x 14% climbs. It was really testing!
I seem to have found some confindence in my decending and cornering over the past month, so that made my day a little easier, and a little faster! (I have been pretty pathetic at decending for a couple of years now. I seemed to take a long time to recover from a crash that happened to me a few years back)

I was hoping to hold the 5 minutes that Julie took out of me on the swim, but she took more from me on the bike. She is a real amazing bike rider.

I put my run shoes on for the half marathon and hoped I had extra fast run legs.
The run was also very testing, up and down hills and throo grassy fields. I ran ok, but not extra-ordinary!
I came 4th in the end, 10 minutes down on Julie, 3 minutes down on Katya Shoemaker and 40 seconds down on Michelle Lee.
Chrissie came 5th! After having had mechanical problems on the bike, ..you were tough out there Chrissie..

Stephen came 4th also!
But we both were really looking for a better result than 4th.

Well, we will keep working away. European long course Champs this Sunday, then to Switzerland to train with the Team, cant wait!

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.