Bradenton, Florida 101 Triathlon

Today I raced the 101 race here in Bradenton, Florida. A 3km swim, 130km bike and 30km run.
The course was a non wetsuit 3 lap course followed by a six lap out and back dead flat bike course and a 3 lap run course along the rivers edge.

I was looking forward to having a great race after some good and consistant training in Thailand. But it seemed that today was not to be my day. I missed any main packs in the swim so ended up swimming the whole course with one other guy.

On the bike I just never felt strong. I can ride better than I did, but it just would not come.
The other girls were putting some time into me, as I could see them on this out and back course.

I ran well for the first 4 miles, but then it hit me that I was going to have a hard run too! From mile 4 to mile 13 I struggled to put one step in front of the other. So many times I wanted to drop out. But I kept plugging away. Seeing Stephen running in 2nd place was great to see. I knew he would be angry if I was finished as a DNF and waiting for him, so I just kept going.
At mile 13 I ate a pretzel and I suddenly came to life! I found my running legs and was able to run the last 6 miles at a fairly decent pace.

I am disappointed to have felt so horrible during the race but proud that I actually pushed throo that really hard time and held onto 5th place.

Hillary was just strong all day, I was very happy to see her go so well.

And Stephen! ..so great to see him have such a great result. That is his best result ever and I know he has much more to come.

I will recover fast from this race and it was a good training session for my next race Ironman Brasil at the end of the month.

About bellabayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.